What I’ve Been Reading

In January I wrote about a book challenge from Modern Mrs. Darcy. I’m pretty impressed with myself that I’ve been able to read as much as I am. Growing up I would devour books but after becoming a mom I’ve spent more time reading children’s lit. However, this year 2016 I am determined to read more and complete this challenge. So here is my progress.

 

book

Crossing of the book I’ve been meaning to read, I finished The Boys in The Boat on Friday and I must say I really enjoyed it. I loved reading about the determination and grit of Joe Rantz. Usually I read fiction but this non fiction book kept me interested and I never wanted to put the book down. This book tells the story of courage during a time of great despair. It is a must read.

I also  finished The Paris Wife and The Aviator’s Wife and I must say I enjoyed the authors’ writing. I’ve been on a historical fiction binge and I love placing myself in the times of Hemingway and Lindberg’s wives. Both books read like a good reality show and I have to admit even though they are full of drama, I love me some reality shows. Each book was written from the perspective of the wife and each book brought out interesting and sensational revelations about these two great men. Both books kept me wanting to read more and as an added bonus I got to cross of the read a book in a day category from my list because The Aviator’s Wife was a quick read for me.

 

Next up on my list is Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets because who doesn’t love it when Mrs. Weasley sends Ron a howler. This will be my third time reading the book but it’s a favorite of mine.  Also, I’m ashamed to admit but I never read Animal Farm or The Catcher in The Rye in high school so they are both next on the list.  What is everyone else reading? I’m excited to write more books on my Read list.

-Becca

 

 

Leave a Reply

