Homeschool Review- SchoolhouseTeachers.com

Before life became a can of crazy busy, I was informed that I had been selected to be on TOS Review Crew. One of the best blessings from the crew is that I was chosen to review their members website SchoolhouseTeachers.com and let me tell you this resource is invaluable.

ST-Affiliate-300x300_zpsb38aa8ae

SchoolhouseTeachers.com comes with a Yearly Membership which allows the subscriber to utilize the site whenever you may need it to help you teach in your homeschool. When I first clicked onto the site I was so overwhelmed because there is so much to explore. There are courses based on grade levels, a free media library- video streaming classes for all the members in your family (even you), and even homemaking resources to keep your home running while you are teaching. Plus, I found free printable planners-which I have already  downloaded. This membership site is so helpful and the best part is for my readers SchoolhouseTeachers.com is offering half off their membership with the code: CREWFOLLOWER. The code is good through 1/31/2016.

Here is just a snipet of what you’ll get if you order the Yearly Membership.

  • 160+ Courses that are Included from Pre K to 12th
  • No per child fees
  • Over 10,000 videos
  • Tips and encrougagment for the Homeschool Mama
  • No textbooks
  • Help for those with Struggling Learners

I chose to look at the course offerings and found that Elementary Art was offered. Big D loves art at Co-Op and as I was going through the artists Georgia O’Keeffe stood out and for our weekly art lesson, we sat down and learned about the artist and then tried our hand at it.  The lesson was so simple and I didn’t have to plan it. I chose the artist and printed the lesson plan. The author gave us the facts and we read about her. Then the author also gave me a quick list of what I would need for the project and we then got to work. The lesson saved me time and is its own art curriculum. There are 12 lessons and all are aimed at Early Elementary students.

Capture

The lesson asked us to use watercolors and create a painting of flowers. I knew immediately I was going to use the orchid that has been hanging out on my kitchen window sill. The lesson  was so easy that the set up took me less than 5 minutes and this included chasing a rogue 1-year-old who had an open marker.  After we set up we sat down and got started.

 

 

DSC_6882

Big D was having so much fun that the younger two had to get in on it. Little D decided he wanted to copy the flower by mixing all of the colors. And Baby G well she never wanted to give up that pink marker.

DSC_6889

DSC_6886

DSC_6901
His finished product
I loved the ease of the Elementary Art course and we will be using it again. Art is an easy subject for me to drop and Big D often asks when we are going to work on. Now I have no excuse, we will be using this curriculum. I find that I  often over think an activity but by using the courses provided in my Yearly Membership, I no longer have to stress and can enjoy these easy art activities along with all the kids. This curriculum is so easy and I can’t wait to explore more. If you are interested, go check it out and remember that by using the crew code you can get it for half the price.

 

clickformorereviews600x160_zpsc2cf0855

 

3dbookimage

Leave a Reply

