For My Daughter and A New Series

 

TuesdaySeries

Last October when I started this blog again, I was writing for the #write31days challenge and I enjoyed it. This year one of my goals is to do more of what I love and writing makes me smile. I love hearing the keyboard while I type. Getting comments from people all over the interweb makes me so excited.

Five years ago, I became a mom and at the age of 21 it was so scary. My mom hasn’t been a part of my life for over 15 years and while I know most of you will say how awful and horrid that thought is, the truth is, it’s really not a bad thing. My relationship with my mother has taught me what not to do. While I missed having someone to talk to when I was a teenager, I was so blessed to have a family of aunts who were my best friends and because of them and my grandmother, I learned what to do when I became a mom.

For my daughter, I’d like better. I’d like her to know who I am and what being a woman, a mother, a best friend is like. I want my daughter to grow up to be a strong person who has faith in herself and in humanity. Being a woman in today’s society is hard because of all the stereotypes and stigmas we encounter on a daily basis. Life becomes easier if you have someone in your corner and for my daughter I’d like to be her person. Her Christina Yang to my Meredith Grey.

When I learned I was pregnant with a girl, my heart sank. One of my fears had come to fruition. How was I going to raise a girl who would soon become a woman? I was a mother of boys and I knew how to play ninjas and build forts. I was so scared because I knew I didn’t want to be my mother. Everyday is a new adventure and for my daughter I’d like better. Having her has made my heart complete and this mother, who thought she could only raise boys, is slowly learning how to raise a girl.

Learning how to be a mother of a girl is a new thing for me, and in order to record it, I am going to be posting a series of blogs every Tuesday entitled Being Your Mother because for my daughter, I’d like her to know someone I never got to know, her mother. Join me next Tuesday and invite your friends.

Signature

Leave me a comment, Follow me on Bloglovin’, I’d love to see your pics on Instagram, Want to Read more Like us on Facebook

3 thoughts on “For My Daughter and A New Series

  1. This sounds like a great idea. Even though I had a daughter first, I have three boys right in a row after her, so I feel myself much more at ease parenting boys than girls…

    Like

Leave a Reply

