5 Faves About Homeschool Preschool

5favesresources

Linking up with Jenna @ Call Her Happy for 5 faves this week. Majoring in Secondary Education in no way prepared me for the real world of teaching my own child. If you are wondering about some of the reasons we homeschool preschool check out this post here. Instead, my degree in education has changed my perspective on how children learn and how and what I want my child to learn.

If you would have asked me in July if I was sure I was going to like creating a formal preschool curricula for my child, I would have told you probably not, but now it’s growing on me. Some days are better than others but so far, seeing how much he has learned and how much he loves learning makes me enjoy it so much more.

When I first started, I was so caught up with curriculum and creating a school environment in my house. Now, after hours of researching curriculum, learning methods, websites, and Pinterest, I have found the best tools to help me teach Big D at home.

#1. Hip Homeschool Moms

This website here has helped me so much. There is a section for curriculum reviews and articles written by moms who are homeschooling their own children. They also host a Video Chat Session on Tuesdays called Mentoring Moms. These hosts answer questions and give their own feedback on what has and hasn’t worked in their own home. Also, they have a Facebook community where moms ask questions, and encourage other moms.

#2. Confessions of a Homeschooler

Buying a program for me was really scary. Some of the programs I looked at were very pricey and emphasized things I didn’t feel were necessary for a Pre-K/K to know. Erica @ Confessions of a Homeschooler created a lot of her own curricula. I went ahead and bought her Letter of the Week curriculum and her K4 program. I print what is needed for that day but I love her handwriting guides and her calendar work.

#3. Twenty Six Letters to Heaven

download (2)

I knew if I was going to homeschool Big D, I wanted to also include as much about our Faith as I could. While researching this curriculum I knew Haley @ Carrots for Michaelmas used it and reviewed it so I decided to buy it. I love it! I supplement it with our Letter of the Week and the recipes and recommended books in it are fantastic. Big D loves the read alouds and I like that it is an easy to read  curriculum and includes activities and lessons for each letter of the alphabet.

#4. Read Aloud Revival

I chose to major in teaching Secondary Education with an endorsement in Language Arts because I love reading and wanted to pass on that love to my students. Now, I get to pass on the love of reading to Big D and Sarah @ Read Aloud Revival has helped me make this happen. Her podcasts are very inspirational and I added her book Teaching from Rest to my Christmas Wish list. So far, because of her podcasts and motivation we have read Charlotte’s Web aloud and are working on The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. We are having a blast snuggling up for story time.

#5. My County Library

Moving to a small town scared me because I didn’t know if the library was going to be as great as our city library, however, I was wrong. Our local library is amazing and the story time for kids is beyond words. The youth staff are so kind and helpful and so far every book I have wanted to read on homeschooling or teaching methods was already in their catalog. Starting there has saved me money that I have since spent on field trips.

As of right now we are taking homeschooling year by year, but these resources have helped me become less anxious and enjoy teaching my child.

Signature

3 thoughts on “5 Faves About Homeschool Preschool

Leave a Reply

