50

fifty

 

 

For my family the number 50 holds a special place in our hearts. My grandparents have been married for over 50 years. Half a century spent together living under one roof.

My grandpa was 50 when I was born and in February my dad will turn 50.

The last 15 years of my grandparents marriage has been spent with numerous days in and out of the hospital. My grandpa spent over 50 years of his life smoking and he will be the first to tell you that smoking has cut his quality of life in half. Currently, he is in the hospital battling with a lung issue due to his COPD. For those of you who read my last post and included him in your prayers, Thank You So Much! He had to have surgery and because of all of our prayers he is recovering well and can breathe much better.

Behind the scenes of this particular hospital visit I noticed one person who has always been our family’s rock. My grandmother is a determined woman who loves fiercely and with all of her heart. The last two weeks spent in different hospital rooms have kept her away from her home, a place she dearly cares for. Last night was the first night in 15 days where she slept on a real bed and not in a chair.

My grandmother is an amazing lady who has raised 4 children and 2 grandchildren. She is the woman I consider my mother and she has taught me more about selflessness than any other person.

This week was one of the hardest times in my life. I adore my grandpa and think the world of him. He taught me about humility, hard work, and the love of a parent. He and my grandma gave up their freedom to take my brother and myself in to their home when we had no where else to go. Watching the love my grandma has for my grandpa has shown me that 50 years spent with your best friend is time well spent.

Fifty years have flown by and their love has produced 4 children, 13 grandchildren, and 4 great-grandchildren. Last week, my sister-in-law gave birth to my niece at the very same hospital my grandfather is currently at. My grandmother, who didn’t know if her best friend would live, was able to see her great-granddaughter and hold her. My grandfather hasn’t met her yet but I know that when he does he will smile with his eyes and thank God for one more day on earth. My family is truly blessed because fifty years ago God planned for a stubborn old man and a selfless old lady to grow old together and teach their family about his love.

One thought on “50

Leave a Reply

