31 Days: Shopping with Three

 

actual31days

 

Every parent’s worst nightmare is taking their child shopping. When Big D was little I was so scared to take him to any store. The grocery store was a no-no because I knew he would want something I did not want him to eat. I avoided the mall because I was afraid of all the germs. Going to any store that had glassware was a nightmare, because I convinced myself he would break something. However, I soon learned that taking him to the store was the only way he would learn how to behave in a store and it worked. He now knows the expectations and he is super helpful when I am picking out fruit.

Now as a mom to three kids under 5, I have learned there are certain places I have to avoid. The grocery store is not that place. Somebody has to make sure the children are fed. If not they turn into banshees and believe me that is not a fun sight to see. So with little reservation I loaded up my troops and we went to the store. Intentionally I made sure the list of the essentials was short because I didn’t want to spend too much time in the store. Staying to long can equal a meltdown in no time. I learned some valuable insight to going to the grocery store with three. First, make sure that they are fed. Second, a baby carrier or a Moby Wrap is an amazing investment. Lastly, keep your expectations low.

The boys had a few meltdowns in the cereal aisle. Little D did not appreciate me saying no to the Elmo cereal but overall it was a learning experience. I have no choice I have to go grocery shopping in order to keep us fed. Sorry to keep this post short but I am in for a long night with Baby G. She just fell asleep and that means I have a limited amount of time before she wakes up and realizes she is in her crib.

 

4 thoughts on “31 Days: Shopping with Three

  1. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.. kccccedbdece

    Like

    1. Thanks for the compliment. It is really nice to hear something like that. My writing skills have improved. While teaching teenagers, in a former life, I learned some tricks. As for the theme it is WordPress but I changed up some fonts. Thanks again and if you blog I would love to read yours. Please let me know if you have your own site.

      Like

  2. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Outstanding work! eagdbeefkgcacffk

    Like

    1. Hi! And thank you. It is really nice to get a compliment like yours. I did not hire a developer. I used the wordpress layout. I hope you come back and read often and thanks again. Also, I would love to follow you if you blog 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

